Tamshui – Love, Tofu & Fun

Tamshui, a charming riverside town

When you move abroad, or sometimes even when you go just on holidays, culture shock comes in different phases and manifests itself in different ways. Mine, thankfully, didn’t last long. The first two days were honestly pretty depressing. It was the first time ever that I was thinking of quitting and going back home, only briefly though. However, I was convinced it wouldn’t last long.
Therefore, after spending one day in bed, I pulled myself together and forced me to leave my comfort zone to settle the matter with my room and to explore at least a bit my new neighborhood.
Ultimately, everything turned out very well. Getting an even bigger room for my own, I got confident and the concerns regarding the no-kitchen situation shrank. I would come to terms with that, for sure.

Well, after these matteres have been settled, I officially signed in at Shih Chien University, got my Student-ID, met my new colleagues and had a fairly warmly welcoming ceremony on friday.  Meeting new people was definitely THE medicine that finally cured me from my shock.

The very next day, Vois (Volunteers Of International Service) took us international students to a city trip. To the charming town by the riverside – Tamshui. Although we hardly knew each other, it was pretty fun.


Zieht man ins Ausland, oder manchmal reicht schon ein Urlaub aus, kann der sogenannte Kulturschock in verschiedenen Phasen und in vielen Facetten auftretten. Meiner war zum Glück nur von kurzer Dauer. Die ersten zwei Tage waren dennoch äußerst deprimierend. Zum ersten Mal habe ich ans Aufgeben gedacht und wollte nach Hause zurück. Obwohl, um ehrlich zu sein, ich habe nur für einen Augenblick daran gedacht. Die Neugierde war ja dann doch größer.

Nachdem ich also einen Tag quasi im Bett verschwendet habe um mal ein bisschen Schlaf zu bekommen, habe ich mich am Riemen gerissen und mich dazu gezwungen meinen Arsch zu bewegen und die Angelegenheit mit meiner ‚Abstellkammer‘ zu regeln und irgendwo mal was zum Essen herzubekommen.

Letztendlich hat sich alles zum Guten gewendet. Nachdem ich ein eigenes, und noch dazu ein größeres Zimmer bekommen habe, wuchs meine Zuversicht und ließ die Bedenken und Zweifel hinsichtlich der nichtvorhanden Küche schrumpfen. Ich werde mich schon irgendwie damit arrangieren, ich weiß ja, dass ich äußerst flexibel in solchen Dingen bin.

Da nun das geklärt war, ging es am Freitag endlich los: einschreiben auf der Shih Chien University, ausstellen des Studentenausweis, kennenlernen der neuen Kollegen und eine äußerst liebevolle ‚Welcome‘ Zeremonie.
So wie ich’s mir schon gedacht habe, war schlussendlich das Treffen meiner Studienkollegen wie Medizin für mich und hat dem Kulturschock den Garaus gemacht.

Bereits am nächsten Tag ging es los mit einem Tagesausflug nach Tamsui, organisiert von Vois (Volunteers Of International Service). Obwohl wir uns alle so gut wie noch gar nicht kannten, hat es viel Spaß gemacht.

Tamshui is pretty easy to reach by MRT. It has its own stop ‘Tamsui’ (red line).

IMG_4901_new
First stop, Glastory in Tamsui.

IMG_4903_newIMG_4906_new

IMG_6692_new
The town was formerly settled by taiwanese aborigines, who are Stronesian peoples. In the 17th century, the Spanish and Durch came to occupy Tamsui. Fort San Domingo: an elegant Victorian house fused with some Chinese elements demonstrates what the life of a consul might have been like.

IMG_6705_new IMG_6686_newIMG_6725_newIMG_6714_newIMG_6716_newIMG_6723_new

IMG_4905_newIMG_6741_new

IMG_6751_new
Little White House (Tamsui Customs Officer’s Residence) This house in colonial style possesses an amazing view and is a famous place for wedding pictures.

IMG_6758_newIMG_6738_newIMG_6756_new

IMG_6731_new
During the 18th century, Tamsui was the largest and busiest harbor in Taiwan but lost its importance in the early 19th century.

IMG_6777_new

IMG_6762_newIMG_6767_new

IMG_6735_newIMG_6737_new IMG_6729_newIMG_6760_new IMG_6780_newIMG_4908_new

IMG_4912_new
By boot did we get to the ‘Lover’s Bridge’. Locals say going over the bridge will lead you to a relationship soon.

IMG_6786_newIMG_6791_new

IMG_6787_new
Fisherman’s Warf: Tamsui is the fishing port in the Northern Taiwan. Try fresh seafood.

IMG_6783_new

Back by boot, we went directly for lunch and to the Shilin Market. In the most original taiwanese restaurant that you can imagine, steaming pots, food everywhere you look, less space but 3 floors, we ate A-Gei, deep fried tofu stuffed with crystal noodles and served with a spicy sauce. A traditional dish in Tamsui. Looks not enjoyable but tastes surprisingly good.

IMG_6792_newIMG_4915_newIMG_4916_newIMG_4920_newIMG_6799_newIMG_6794_newIMG_6804_newIMG_6803_new

To end up the day, ‘a little party never killed nobody’ 😉

Follow me on

Free Social Media Icon Instagram  Black circle ring Free Social Media Icon Pinterest  Black circle ring

One thought on “Tamshui – Love, Tofu & Fun

Leave a Reply

